Navigation
  #1  
Old 10-29-2009, 10:32 AM
j9284
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Credits: 8 [Check]
Default AFNE Financial Services

I got an email today from someplace called AFNE Financial Services. The email address is an individual's email address at gmail.com. Sounds fishy. They state they are collecting for a client, it may involve a lawsuit if I do not send money. They say they MIGHT be able to accent Visa or Mastercard but instruct you to send money to a Paypal account. It does not name the debt collector nor is there a phone number for AFNE. It gives an address in Columbia, MO. I know there is an AFni (spelled differently) but not AFNE. Isn't it wierd there is no phone number included and the want you to send to a Paypal account?? Has anyone else received anything like this?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #2  
Old 10-29-2009, 10:49 AM
paulmergel's Avatar
paulmergel paulmergel is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: illinois
Posts: 8,057
Credits: 35,859
Default

more than likely a phishing scam.i would delete it from your email.
__________________
giving hope to the hopeless,help to the helpless,and hap to the hapless.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 10-29-2009, 06:18 PM
goldenbast's Avatar
goldenbast goldenbast is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,733
Credits: 20,987
Default

I would keep a copy of it, or print it out just for your own files...never know if some new CA is on the scene. But don't respond to it at all. If it really is a CA, I would not trust them at all because that is the most asinine thing I have ever heard.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 10-29-2009, 10:48 PM
Private
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Credits: 8 [Check]
Default

You should certinly keep a printed copy for your records but delete it from your computer. Do not respond or send any money. Collection agencies have not yet started to use email as a form to collect from debtors (mostly out of fair of the FDCPA third party information rules). We can't even leave voicemails at this point without risking getting into trouble. I would never pay a debt based on an email as a consumer, especially without a phone number. Even then, you should get the number yourself and not use the one provided in the email. You do not know if it goes to the actual company holding the account. Even when they call you. If you have their number handy, before you release any banking information or other such information, be sure you call them back to make the payment. This is the case with any creditor (even ones you are slightly past due or current). There is a such thing as Spoofing. Its where you can go to an internet website and have your caller id changed to come up as anything you want. Even the White House. Dont trust caller id.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 10-30-2009, 03:00 AM
SC's Avatar
SC SC is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1,363
Credits: 11,049
Default

One mustn't ever disclose his/her banking information to a collector over the phone. What more? I'd not pay a dime without receiving proper validation from them. I'd wait for their call and talk to a human before taking the next step. Just lie low, and don't respond to the mail.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 11-03-2009, 09:03 AM
Unregistered
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Credits: 8 [Check]
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anonymous View Post
I got an email today from someplace called AFNE Financial Services. The email address is an individual's email address at gmail.com. Sounds fishy. They state they are collecting for a client, it may involve a lawsuit if I do not send money. They say they MIGHT be able to accent Visa or Mastercard but instruct you to send money to a Paypal account. It does not name the debt collector nor is there a phone number for AFNE. It gives an address in Columbia, MO. I know there is an AFni (spelled differently) but not AFNE. Isn't it wierd there is no phone number included and the want you to send to a Paypal account?? Has anyone else received anything like this?

Yes....I just did today. I'm going to report it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 11-04-2009, 06:46 AM
Unregistered
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Credits: 8 [Check]
Default

I just received this email also .
I responded by saying something like who is to pay when they dont know who they are paying from.
It said I owed 373.11.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 11-04-2009, 06:50 AM
paulmergel's Avatar
paulmergel paulmergel is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: illinois
Posts: 8,057
Credits: 35,859
Default

do as private advised.that sounds like the thing to do.
__________________
giving hope to the hopeless,help to the helpless,and hap to the hapless.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 11-04-2009, 07:18 AM
Unregistered
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Credits: 8 [Check]
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anonymous View Post
I got an email today from someplace called AFNE Financial Services. The email address is an individual's email address at gmail.com. Sounds fishy. They state they are collecting for a client, it may involve a lawsuit if I do not send money. They say they MIGHT be able to accent Visa or Mastercard but instruct you to send money to a Paypal account. It does not name the debt collector nor is there a phone number for AFNE. It gives an address in Columbia, MO. I know there is an AFni (spelled differently) but not AFNE. Isn't it wierd there is no phone number included and the want you to send to a Paypal account?? Has anyone else received anything like this?

I did also and are investigating it a little myself.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 11-04-2009, 06:18 PM
philpot
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Credits: 8 [Check]
Default

i got one to do not owe money to no one what is going on with this ?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11  
Old 11-07-2009, 04:47 AM
mdavis
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Credits: 8 [Check]
Default

Yeah, I got the same message from AFNE. They say that they are collecting for their "client" but won't say who.Not buying it !!!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12  
Old 11-07-2009, 09:34 AM
unclewulf's Avatar
unclewulf unclewulf is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Vermont, USA
Posts: 2,865
Credits: 24,308
Default

Okay, y'all. While you're digging and reporting, here's another chore for you. File a complaint with PayPal. I can't imaging these emails being for real. And PayPal has a vested interest in shutting down scam operators' accounts.
__________________
Wulfisms: my blog

The four 'no's of dealing with collectors:
No validation? No payment. No way! No kidding!!

Tellin' you all the zomby troof
Here I'm is, the zomby woof
[Frank Zappa, 1988 - R.I.P.]
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13  
Old 11-09-2009, 01:37 PM
Ap1962
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Credits: 8 [Check]
Default

This is a complete scam!! My daughter got this in her email inbox. She has no accounts that have ever been past due. No debt collector is going to send something without telling you what the debt is for, where a payment can be MAILED, and no signature at the bottom. Ignore it!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Name:
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:04 PM.




About Us | Contact Us | Affiliate | Sitemap | Espanol | RSS Feeds| Terms of Services Navigation