Navigation

I found a website that is very disturbing, and possibly...

Message Author
PostPosted: Fri Oct 26, 2007 4:52 pm Subject: I found a website that is very disturbing, and possibly...

After viewing a post on this forum that a flamer posted about us being "professional debtors" I decided to look it up on the internet and it came up with this website:
professionaldebtor.com/view_debtors.php
This website is very disturbing as it is a database that lists by state what debtors they have on file as well as other information, here is an example from the website. If I select Colorado and select the name Mary Williams it comes up with this:

Business Name:


Colorado Telephone Inc.


Responsible Party:


Mary Williams


Address:


3000 S. Jamaica Ct Ste 340
City: Aurora

State:


Colorado
Zip Code: 80014

Amount Owed:


$4,165.00
Date of Default: 9/29/2004

Resolved?


No
Date Resolved: 0000-00-00

Someone is posting the names of debtors in a public place as well is the persons address, how much they owe and whom they owe it to. This has got to be a major FDCPA violation. Not only for that but that would allow any JDB to just pick up the info from that site and try to collect on it even if they have no right to do so. Who should this be reported to? FTC perhaps? Also I think some people on that list need to be called.

JCEMT
Moderator
JCEMT
Moderator

Leave a quick message for JCEMT
Joined: 10 Sep 2007
Posts: 2992
Debtcc Points: 27023

PostPosted: Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:39 pm Subject:

That site doesn't let me enter anything.
_________________
Where there are hard working people being harassed or threatened, I will be there. My site: http://anthonylemons.blogspot.com
Avoid these Agencies: http://www.budhibbs.com/coll_to_avoid_list.htm
Contact any government official here: http://www.congress.org/congressorg/home/ Contact any State Attorney General: http://www.naag.org/
Federal Trade Commission: http://www.ftc.gov/
AnthonyLemons
Debt Samaritan
Anthony Lemons
Debt Samaritan

Joined: 17 Feb 2007
Posts: 1827
Debtcc Points: 18434

PostPosted: Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:44 pm Subject:

oh wow..That's scary.
_________________
"It's a treat, being a long-distance runner...."
Allan Sillitoe, The Loneliness Of A Long-Distance Runner
finsfan13
Moderator
finsfan13
Moderator

Leave a quick message for finsfan13
Joined: 17 Feb 2006
Posts: 7021
Debtcc Points: 59819

PostPosted: Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:48 pm Subject:

Wow! that is scary finsfan! I think it ranks right up there with you googling in your phone number, finding the address of your house, and then using a site to find out exactly where your home is! the internet can be a wonderful thing and it can be scary too. I'm not sure who this should be reported to. I would imagine the FTC certainly should be involved
debtstinker



Leave a quick message for debtstinker
Joined: 08 Oct 2007
Posts: 288
Debtcc Points: 2786

PostPosted: Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:49 pm Subject:

The good news is, so far it looks like there is only info on Colorado. I tried a bunch of other states and got nothing. I was terrified of seeing my own name on there...
_________________
"It's a treat, being a long-distance runner...."
Allan Sillitoe, The Loneliness Of A Long-Distance Runner
finsfan13
Moderator
finsfan13
Moderator

Leave a quick message for finsfan13
Joined: 17 Feb 2006
Posts: 7021
Debtcc Points: 59819

PostPosted: Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:58 pm Subject:

i did a search to whom owns that site here is who owns it and maintains it


Registrar Name: WILD WEST DOMAINS, INC.
Address: 14455 North Hayden Rd Suite 219, Scottsdale, Arizone 85260, US
Phone Number: 480-505-8800
Admin Contact: Barb . Rechterman
Phone Number: 480-505-8800

Admin Contact: Michael . Zimmerman
Phone Number: 480-505-8800

Admin Contact: tim . ruiz
Phone Number: 319-294-9806

Billing Contact: Ron . Hertz
Phone Number: 480-505-8800

Technical Contact: Jody . Kolker
Phone Number: 319-294-9806 x210

Technical Contact: Michael . Zimmerman
Phone Number: 480-505-8800

Technical Contact: tim . ruiz
Phone Number: 319-294-9806

_________________
Register today to encash debtcc points.
JamesInTn
Guest




Debtcc Points: 100

PostPosted: Fri Oct 26, 2007 6:06 pm Subject:

That is unbeleiveable!! That has got to be illegal as all get out! How dare they. All I can say is my name better not be there or else I will be hauling there a$$ to court.
_________________
Check out my credit repair blog. http://goldenbast.yesdebtfree.org/
goldenbast
Debt Samaritan
goldenbast

Leave a quick message for goldenbast
Joined: 21 Aug 2007
Posts: 900
Debtcc Points: 14018

PostPosted: Fri Oct 26, 2007 6:10 pm Subject:

Don't worry Bast, theres nothing in there for Texas
JCEMT
Moderator
JCEMT
Moderator

Leave a quick message for JCEMT
Joined: 10 Sep 2007
Posts: 2992
Debtcc Points: 27023

PostPosted: Fri Oct 26, 2007 6:13 pm Subject:

Ive lived in many states:) But seriously, I know one of those people listed..I am gonna call her and tell her about it.
_________________
Check out my credit repair blog. http://goldenbast.yesdebtfree.org/
goldenbast
Debt Samaritan
goldenbast

Leave a quick message for goldenbast
Joined: 21 Aug 2007
Posts: 900
Debtcc Points: 14018

PostPosted: Fri Oct 26, 2007 6:15 pm Subject:

Good, let the word spread. There needs to be a huge class action lawsuit against them by all the peoples names they have posted.
JCEMT
Moderator
JCEMT
Moderator

Leave a quick message for JCEMT
Joined: 10 Sep 2007
Posts: 2992
Debtcc Points: 27023

PostPosted: Fri Oct 26, 2007 6:20 pm Subject:

Heh...someone should try contacting those people and let them know their rights are being tromped all over.
_________________
Check out my credit repair blog. http://goldenbast.yesdebtfree.org/
goldenbast
Debt Samaritan
goldenbast

Leave a quick message for goldenbast
Joined: 21 Aug 2007
Posts: 900
Debtcc Points: 14018

PostPosted: Fri Oct 26, 2007 6:21 pm Subject:

I lived in Colorado:) Good thing my name isn't on there.
_________________
Check out my credit repair blog. http://goldenbast.yesdebtfree.org/
goldenbast
Debt Samaritan
goldenbast

Leave a quick message for goldenbast
Joined: 21 Aug 2007
Posts: 900
Debtcc Points: 14018

PostPosted: Fri Oct 26, 2007 9:03 pm Subject:

It looks like anyone can enter someone's name, and the site is acting as a simple conduit.
_________________
Where there are hard working people being harassed or threatened, I will be there. My site: http://anthonylemons.blogspot.com
Avoid these Agencies: http://www.budhibbs.com/coll_to_avoid_list.htm
Contact any government official here: http://www.congress.org/congressorg/home/ Contact any State Attorney General: http://www.naag.org/
Federal Trade Commission: http://www.ftc.gov/
AnthonyLemons
Debt Samaritan
Anthony Lemons
Debt Samaritan

Joined: 17 Feb 2007
Posts: 1827
Debtcc Points: 18434

PostPosted: Fri Oct 26, 2007 9:09 pm Subject:

How on earth is this legal?
_________________
"It's a treat, being a long-distance runner...."
Allan Sillitoe, The Loneliness Of A Long-Distance Runner
finsfan13
Moderator
finsfan13
Moderator

Leave a quick message for finsfan13
Joined: 17 Feb 2006
Posts: 7021
Debtcc Points: 59819

PostPosted: Sat Oct 27, 2007 4:39 am Subject:

Maybe we should report that site to the NSA, FBI, BBB, SAG office and the MSC (Martha Steward Collection)..no just kidding about MSC. I know this is serious and something should be done. Can and would this site and administrators check into it and the results they generate would be very useful for all of us here Question Exclamation
_________________
"It only takes a second to do something that you will regret for the rest of your life."

All the Best,
Luke
Lukeskywalker

Lukeskywalker


Leave a quick message for Lukeskywalker
Joined: 19 May 2007
Posts: 1832
Debtcc Points: 15890

Quick Reply
Your Name
Subject
Message body
All times are GMT - 7 Hours
1 2 3 4 5  Next  
Page 1 of 5

 
About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Testimonials | Sitemap | Espanol | Media Kit | Terms of Services Navigation
Hacker Safe   Member of IAPDA   DnB Listed