| Message |
Author |
Posted: Mon Mar 03, 2008 3:02 pm Subject: Lawyers and settling a Prosper Loan |
|
|
I got a call today from a law office. I didn't catch the name. No caller ID on my work phone, but I'll get it when they call my cell this evening.
He wanted to talk to me about my prosper loan. Said it needed to be taken care of before it went to the attorney. I told him I couldn't do anything for a few months when my girlfriend (finally!) starts her job. And I wasn't giving them bank account numbers. He said he wasn't looking for that. Just wanted to work something out, it involved questions, like how much I make etc... So I am having him call me back because I didn't want to do it at work and I wanted to be prepared.
I'm pretty sure it was a lawyer because Prosper is legit unlike some of my other bad calls. I'm just not sure what to expect when I talk to this guy. What kind of deals should I be expecting here? Should I cooperate at all costs? I was just starting to get back on my feet here. And as always I just get knocked back down again.
Advice anyone?
_________________ Life is an Albatross:Advice from an Albatross
|
|
pokogeo

Joined: 05 Jul 2007
Posts: 587
Debtcc Points: 9432
|
|
|
Posted: Mon Mar 03, 2008 9:02 pm Subject: loan |
|
|
I applied, to Prosper.com, for a loan. I filled out ALL of the information, they asked for. I recieved an e-mail...stating, "since my credit score was 'bad', I would have to pay an application fee ($150.00) + a fee ( this could be up to $200.00), to whomever I would get the loan from (of course, they couldn't 'guarantee' this loan). As soon as i saw they wanted a fee, I 'cancelled' my application. Horrible experience.
|
|
sdchargers_63
Joined: 08 Aug 2007
Posts: 974
Debtcc Points: 10253
|
|
|
Posted: Tue Mar 04, 2008 11:39 am Subject: |
|
|
with all due respect, you were lied to, sd. Looking on their website there is no fee to use the site, and no application fee for anyone. There is a closing fee, but that gets deducted from the loan you get so you dont have to pay anything up front.
I think someone tried to scam you, honestly. Their website has one page that lists ALL their fees. It clearly states that they do not have any other fees than whats on that page.
|
|
skydivr7673
Debt Samaritan

Joined: 15 May 2007
Posts: 878
Debtcc Points: 822
|
|
|
Posted: Tue Mar 04, 2008 7:27 pm Subject: loan |
|
|
Thanks for the, "in all due respect" part. When I filled out information, on Prosper.com, the website ALSO stated it would be "good" ifI joined one of the 'Groups', on the site. It was the 'Group' who e-mailed me baout the application 'fee'. Mmmmm.I guess I was lied to.
|
|
sdchargers_63
Joined: 08 Aug 2007
Posts: 974
Debtcc Points: 10253
|
|
|
Posted: Wed Mar 05, 2008 12:09 am Subject: |
|
|
If you happen to still have the email, perhaps you should forward it to Prosper's admin...I highly doubt that Prosper sanctions such activity.
_________________ The only people with whom you should try to get even are those who have helped you.
-John E. Southard
|
|
Morningstar
Moderator

Joined: 06 Feb 2007
Posts: 1653
Debtcc Points: 10696
|
|
|
Posted: Wed Mar 05, 2008 11:55 am Subject: |
|
|
Well I haven't heard from these lawyers yet, at least they didn't call back when they said they would, not sure if they called my cell at some later time because I did not answer it. Haven't heard anything from them. I hope I get something in writing though, that would make me pay attention.
_________________ Life is an Albatross:Advice from an Albatross
|
|
pokogeo

Joined: 05 Jul 2007
Posts: 587
Debtcc Points: 9432
|
|
|
Posted: Fri Mar 07, 2008 4:06 am Subject: |
|
|
the year of debt now....is 2008 in question?
|
|
socksfullofrocks

Joined: 14 Dec 2007
Posts: 579
Debtcc Points: 58
|
|
|