| Message |
Author |
Posted: Sat Sep 13, 2008 4:36 pm Subject: A good way to help rebuild credit |
|
|
Not sure if this was ever posted, but if you go to crownjewelers.com
and open an account, you will get a $2500 creditline that will be reported to the credit agencies. The only catch is you have to make deposit toward whatever you buy. The stuff is not top notch by any means, but the guys over at the fico forum swear by them.
|
|
Breakthecycle2

Joined: 22 Oct 2007
Posts: 192
Debtcc Points: 3223
|
|
|
Posted: Sat Sep 13, 2008 4:38 pm Subject: |
|
|
Ohh and there is no credit check.
|
|
Breakthecycle2

Joined: 22 Oct 2007
Posts: 192
Debtcc Points: 3223
|
|
|
Posted: Wed Oct 15, 2008 10:43 am Subject: |
|
|
has anyone ever done this with success? I find it hard to believe that you can open up a credit line with no credit check, and that it gets reported to FICO? But then I am a skeptic
_________________

|
|
smo65d11
Joined: 21 Mar 2008
Posts: 737
Debtcc Points: 4650
|
|
|
Posted: Wed Oct 15, 2008 4:55 pm Subject: |
|
|
If you google "Crown Jewelers" scam you'll find tons of negative info!!!!!
_________________ Baby steps...one debt at a time.
Greetings from NYC!!!
|
|
DirtPoor08

Joined: 06 Oct 2008
Posts: 30
Debtcc Points: 313
|
|
|
Posted: Thu Oct 16, 2008 2:48 am Subject: |
|
|
I've had a Crown Jewels account for 9 months with a $1500 credit limit. I've bought one piece of crappy jewelry for $35 and PIF'd. SInce, they have reported on TU and EX positively and have boosted my score. Now I'm just letting it age nicely. I'm sure I'll have to buy something else soon to keep the account active but it is not a scam, just crappy jewelry but worth the positive tradeline. And it does not get reported to FICO. FICO is not a credit reporting agency they are a credit scoring service which pulls its info from the big 3 CRA's.
_________________ Texas Residents
All CA's are required to post a bond with the SOS
http://direct.sos.state.tx.us/debtcollectors/DCSearch.asp
When requesting Validation, reference the FDCPA as well as Chpter 392 of the TFC:
http://tlo2.tlc.state.tx.us/statutes/docs/FI/content/htm/fi.005.00.000 392.00.htm
|
|
NASCAR_Devil
Moderator

Joined: 20 Jun 2008
Posts: 1968
Debtcc Points: 9682
|
|
|
|
NASCAR_Devil
Moderator

Joined: 20 Jun 2008
Posts: 1968
Debtcc Points: 9682
|
|
|
Posted: Thu Oct 16, 2008 3:19 pm Subject: |
|
|
hmm it might be worth a shot then, anything to help my usage % while I SLOWLY whittle down my balances by paying them down.
thanks for the feedback!
_________________

|
|
smo65d11
Joined: 21 Mar 2008
Posts: 737
Debtcc Points: 4650
|
|
|
|
NASCAR_Devil
Moderator

Joined: 20 Jun 2008
Posts: 1968
Debtcc Points: 9682
|
|
|
Posted: Fri Oct 17, 2008 7:00 am Subject: |
|
|
Dirt Poor do you have a link to the bad reports on Crown Jewelers? I googled the name and didn't find anything bad?
Nascar thanks for your positive feedback, and how long do you think I should wait before trying for the Sterling Trifecta? 6 months? Longer?
_________________

|
|
smo65d11
Joined: 21 Mar 2008
Posts: 737
Debtcc Points: 4650
|
|
|
Posted: Fri Oct 17, 2008 10:26 am Subject: |
|
|
This is not a scam at all. They had a problem with their secured sever awhile ago, but just pay through Paypal and all is OK.
|
|
Breakthecycle2

Joined: 22 Oct 2007
Posts: 192
Debtcc Points: 3223
|
|
|
Posted: Fri Oct 17, 2008 10:29 am Subject: |
|
|
so don't use a credit card directly through their site?
_________________

|
|
smo65d11
Joined: 21 Mar 2008
Posts: 737
Debtcc Points: 4650
|
|
|
Posted: Fri Oct 17, 2008 10:43 am Subject: |
|
|
"Not sure if this was ever posted, but if you go to crownjewelers.com
and open an account, you will get a $2500 creditline that will be reported to the credit agencies. The only catch is you have to make deposit toward whatever you buy. The stuff is not top notch by any means, but the guys over at the fico forum swear by them. "
If it sounds too good to be true it probably is...check BBB and fraud reports first...they have a bad rating.
|
|
bernieadams

Joined: 16 Oct 2008
Posts: 96
Debtcc Points: 821
|
|
|
Posted: Fri Oct 17, 2008 10:45 am Subject: |
|
|
"No Problem. Once you get some history on that TL, go for the Sterling Trifecta (Kays, JB Robinson and Jared). I have a Shared $3000 CL on all 3 but to anyone reviewing the reports, it looks like $9000 (3 TL @ $3000 CL each) "
Awesome advice thanks Nascar
|
|
bernieadams

Joined: 16 Oct 2008
Posts: 96
Debtcc Points: 821
|
|
|
Posted: Fri Oct 17, 2008 1:14 pm Subject: |
|
|
I have never had a problem. If you have credit problems, this is the perfect way to help.
_________________ Register today to cash in debtcc points.
|
|
Guest

Debtcc Points: 100
|
|
|
|
NASCAR_Devil
Moderator

Joined: 20 Jun 2008
Posts: 1968
Debtcc Points: 9682
|
|
|
Posted: Tue Oct 21, 2008 8:58 am Subject: debt |
|
|
i would think if this was a LEGIT company, they would DO a credit check for approval. Just like any loan/line of credit, you want to get, lenders do a credit check. I'm assuming the % rate would extremely high, since there is no credit check.
|
|
sdchargers_63

Joined: 08 Aug 2007
Posts: 1151
Debtcc Points: 11104
|
|
|