Navigation

Question

Message Author
PostPosted: Mon Sep 22, 2008 10:28 am Subject: Question

Hi everyone.

I am wondering if anyone has ever heard of/received a call from "the fraud division of CCB." I received a voicemail stating they are calling due to allegations involving my name and social security number. They also called a friend of mine and stated that she was listed as a reference. I am pretty sure this "attorney's office" is somehow linked to a payday loan company, as the calls did not start until I sent my letter demanding my refund and notifying these companies that they were not legal to lend in the state of Indiana, etc., etc.

Today I received another message from "James Black" at this company stating that if I did not return his phone call, they would process this through my county.

Just trying to see if there is anyone else here that has had to deal with these people and if there is a proper way I should deal with his calls.

Thanks!
BttrflyV69

bttrflyv69



Leave a quick message for bttrflyv69
Joined: 18 Dec 2007
Posts: 24
Debtcc Points: 941

PostPosted: Mon Sep 22, 2008 10:35 am Subject: reply

try to get a ph#off your caller id.that would help us help you.it does sound like a pdl collector or a pdl.also sounds like a bottomfeeder.no legit creditor would threaten like that.save that voice mail it could come in handy to pursue action against this person or company.if you can try to talk to these people once,get a company name.if they refuse,don't speak to them again.they can't and won't do anything.if they have to leave messages like that they aren't legal.
paulmergel
Moderator
paulmergel
Moderator

Joined: 24 Jun 2007
Posts: 3465
Debtcc Points: 13213

PostPosted: Mon Sep 22, 2008 10:41 am Subject:

I thought I remember someone else talking about a James Black so I searched and found the following link. Not sure if it helps. Hopefully this link works.

http://www.debtconsolidationcare.com/creditors-information/about25972- 1.html

kklblue



Leave a quick message for kklblue
Joined: 10 Sep 2008
Posts: 27
Debtcc Points: 488

PostPosted: Mon Sep 22, 2008 10:49 am Subject:

Thanks. The phone number "Mr. Black" leaves is 888-291-6973. I called one night over the weekend to see if I could get a voice mail with the company's correct name. It said "CCB Associates." The only thing that makes me believe it is involved with a payday loan company, is because the person they called and said I had listed as a reference was a reference I used for a couple PDLs. Only thing, other than a job reference, I had listed her for.
bttrflyv69



Leave a quick message for bttrflyv69
Joined: 18 Dec 2007
Posts: 24
Debtcc Points: 941

PostPosted: Wed Sep 24, 2008 11:47 am Subject: Mr. Black

Received a call today from James Black of the Fraud Division of CCR regarding allegations attached to my name and SS# that have been presented to his office for prosecution. This is the message he left with a relative.

He left this number 888-291-6973. I am sure I will rush and call that nice gentleman back, NOT!!!

Also guessing this is a PD loan collector as I have never done business with anyone legitimate that would leave that kind of message.

motomom716

motomom716

Leave a quick message for motomom716
Joined: 17 Oct 2006
Posts: 143
Debtcc Points: 2117

PostPosted: Tue Oct 07, 2008 7:01 am Subject:

This was a collection agency for a payday loan company. The payday loan company and I had already come to an agreement and my account was marked "Paid In Full." I notified the collection agency via email as well as contacted the PDL that their collection agency was harassing me. The PDL contacted them and I have not heard another word since.

Beware. This company claims to be attorneys. When you call the number and get the voicemail, it even says they are attorneys. They are not. They are snake in the grass collection agents.

bttrflyv69



Leave a quick message for bttrflyv69
Joined: 18 Dec 2007
Posts: 24
Debtcc Points: 941

PostPosted: Mon Oct 13, 2008 12:37 pm Subject: CCR Associates- fictious Mr Black

The "Mr Black" used by CCR Associates staff is likely a fictious name used by staff. The illigitmacy of their calls are designed to negatively reflect on the innocent and upset you enough so you'll phone them back. It is often regarding a name you've never even heard of and by these people phoning the manager where you live, your partents or employer about something or someone you know nothing about- they have succeeded at negatively reflecting on your repuation for no reason. They may be legitimately trying to locate someone with a debt, but should not be cold-calling strangers or leaving a waste of illegitimate doubt behind in their wake, regarding unrelated parties. That is unacceptable! You should refuse providing confidential information- resist phoning them back and instead, phone your State Attorney General with a complaint. Also be aware staff from companies like these will makes posts on sites like this, to further intimidate you. Don't fall for it. I'm not talking about avoiding a legitimate debt- I'm talking about not being in arrears on anything and refusing to answer phishing phone calls designed to capture your phone number or other private info. Caller: CCR Associates
_________________
Register today to cash in debtcc points.
Harrassment
Guest




Debtcc Points: 100

PostPosted: Mon Oct 13, 2008 7:11 pm Subject: What kind of scam is this outfit?

Ok, so I get a call from ph 888-291-6973. It's a Miss Collins in "legal servies" and the are calling me in reference to a Tommy French, Case 18000-0.

Well I don't have any debts, don't know a Tommy French and the case numbers and all the names sound fake to me. Unfortunatly I missed the call--they left a message and they are not answering now.

Yeah, I think the are probably some bottom-feeder company that bought some old old names and is trying to get a bite.

I'll call them back tomorrow to laugh and make fun of them tho. I mean, they aren't even referencing me! What the hell? Anyway, I'm not scared because I don't have any debt so they can't be collectors looking for me. But saying it's in reference to a "tommy french?" What the heck is that all about? I think it's all fake. Should be a fun call.

_________________
Register today to cash in debtcc points.
NotTommyFrench
Guest




Debtcc Points: 100

Quick Reply
Your Name
Subject
Message body
All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Testimonials | Sitemap | Espanol | Media Kit | Terms of Services Navigation
Hacker Safe   Member of IAPDA   DnB Listed