Are consumers being scammed by World Financial Network Bank?

Post New Thread
Anonymous
Anonymous
Posts: n/a
Credits: 0


Sub: #1 Are consumers being scammed by World Financial Network Bank?
Replied on 06-03-2009, 11:23 AM
Reply With Quote

I received a letter today from the above. Thinking this was my local Bank I called the company. They stated that I could opt out on who they furnished my credit info to if I called and told them. I got a recording asking for my account number (if you dont have your account number give us your Social and then the recording asked for my zip code.
Later I questioned my actions and called the President of my Bank. He stated he has never heard of them. I checked the web and it is loaded with complaints about this company.
May I please hear from you.




Posts: 5,347
Credits: 62,145


Send message to frogpatch
Sub: #2
Replied on 06-03-2009, 11:26 AM
Reply With Quote

SCAM! They are probably Identity thieves

__________________
Escape the Payday Loan Trap http://tinyurl.com/pdltrap
Article-When the Debt Collector Calls

Anonymous
Anonymous
Posts: n/a
Credits: 0


Sub: #3 Scam
Replied on 06-24-2009, 09:12 AM
Reply With Quote

They tried to scam my mother and I with a paper that looked like a tax form. I ended up sending copies of my mother's info, license, ss card and now I am terrified that it was a scam. The tax form looked legit, so I am going to have my mother pull her credit report.....

Anonymous
Anonymous
Posts: n/a
Credits: 0


Sub: #4 WFNNB scam?!
Replied on 07-08-2009, 06:36 AM
Reply With Quote

I, too recieved a mailing ("privacy statement") from world financial network national bank telling me if I didn't want my personal info "shared" to call the 800 number. I also got the recording requesting first my account number (what account?!!) and then my ss#. I thought NO WAY and checked on the internet and found all the wfnnb scam information. I will give this mailing to the post office. The thing that first tipped me off that it might not be legit was that it was in my name, rather than my husband's. (our cr. card acct. is in his name.)

Posts: 15
Credits: 213


Send message to tmase711111
Sub: #5
Replied on 07-22-2009, 09:21 PM
Reply With Quote

WFNNB is an issuer for department store credit cards. I know for a fact they are the issuer of a dept store named Maurices because my daughter has one. I believe they are an issuer for furniture store cards also.

Sub: #6
Replied on 07-29-2009, 06:26 PM
Reply With Quote

I think there might be two WFNNBs, one legit, one scamming. For example, I do not have any credit cards by any companies owned by the legit WFNNB.

I do however, have some defaulted internetpayday loans that have nothing to do with WFNNB.

However, three times today on my home phone WFNNB showd up on my caller ID Box. Each time with a different area code and telephone number. This is highly suspect of someone trying to scam

Anonymous
Anonymous
Posts: n/a
Credits: 0


Sub: #7 Thank you
Replied on 08-22-2009, 01:30 PM
Reply With Quote

Thanks for the heads up on this being a scam. I got a mailing yesterday.

Anonymous
Anonymous
Posts: n/a
Credits: 0


Sub: #8
Replied on 08-24-2009, 10:45 AM
Reply With Quote

If there are two WFNNB's, NEITHER is legit. The company that handles debts for department stores scams its debtors by creating false late charges and tacking on interest. They seriously need to be brought to court.

Unregistered
Anonymous
Posts: n/a
Credits: 48,894


Sub: #9 THEY ARE THE WORST!!! RATED WITH "HALF A STAR" FOR SERVICE. I received the same little piece of paper with such an arrogant tone that made me sick... but what can we expect in this country? We have scam all over.
Replied on 10-09-2009, 03:30 PM
Reply With Quote

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anonymous View Post
I received a letter today from the above. Thinking this was my local Bank I called the company. They stated that I could opt out on who they furnished my credit info to if I called and told them. I got a recording asking for my account number (if you dont have your account number give us your Social and then the recording asked for my zip code.
Later I questioned my actions and called the President of my Bank. He stated he has never heard of them. I checked the web and it is loaded with complaints about this company.
May I please hear from you.
YES! THEY ARE SCAM.. I RECEIVED the same small piece of paper with such an arrogant tone that made me throu up!. What is new in this country? They just think we DECENT Tax payer people are at their mercy. But, time will change... We should never forget this people! for what they are. DO NOT give any information. They are the worst. And who cares? they can give my information whom ever they please!!! I hope they do. I DO NOT NEED ANY CREDIT. I DO NOT WANT ANY CREDIT. I HAVE NOTHING TO HIDE... AND I AM FORTUNATE! I HAVE OTHER CHOICES.. I CAN MOVE OUT OF THIS COUNTRY, AND THEY CAN CONTINUE WITH THEIR HARRASMENT!
Sorry for all the scam around us. Keep up and spred the information. Thanks

anonymous2
Anonymous
Posts: n/a
Credits: 48,894


Sub: #10
Replied on 11-02-2009, 10:24 PM
Reply With Quote

I got one of those mailings today to opt out -- and stupid me gave my ss #. I have excellent credit & hope they don't steal my identity! Can't believe I did that!

Unregistered
Anonymous
Posts: n/a
Credits: 48,894


Sub: #11 Gave Private Info
Replied on 11-26-2009, 06:31 AM
Reply With Quote

I did the same thing. What do I do now?????

Unregistered
Anonymous
Posts: n/a
Credits: 48,894


Sub: #12 World Financial Network National Bank:
Replied on 12-12-2009, 10:45 AM
Reply With Quote

I also received this mailing stating changes to my account. I don't have an account with this bank There letter addresses changes to my account the Processing Fee of $1.00 for paper statments got my attention ! I called the 800 ## the machine asked for an account number or my Social Security Number ! NEVER give your SOCIAL SECURITY number out espically to a machine !!

Tea18100
Anonymous
Posts: n/a
Credits: 48,894


Sub: #13
Replied on 12-14-2009, 04:32 PM
Reply With Quote

I got the same paper too. Wondering how did they get my Name and address.

Unregistered
Anonymous
Posts: n/a
Credits: 48,894


Sub: #14
Replied on 12-28-2009, 07:50 AM
Reply With Quote

I looked up these guys on BBB. They are rated A+ through them. They represent a very long list of retail operations- list is on the BBB site. I was in the middle of filing a complaint because I got a notice from them and didn't know who the heck they were, when I looked again at the very top of the notice- it said it was regarding changes to my Express credit card agreement. I thought I had cancelled long ago but it looks like I didn't.

Hope that helps some people figure out why they are getting mailings from this company. I definitely would agree that WFNNB should make it much clearer which retailer they are representing in these mailings.

Unregistered
Anonymous
Posts: n/a
Credits: 48,894


Sub: #15 You saved me a lot of time
Replied on 01-02-2010, 11:17 AM
Reply With Quote

Thanks for telling me to read the top of the letter addressed to me. I read 75% of the letter trying to figure out who these people were. I even called the number they had listed and got the same reply many others did. Through the internet, I found a direct number and planned to call them on Monday but your email telling me to read the first paragraph told me exactually who they represented. New York and Company, a clothing store's credit card has a zero balance with me but I will close it out immediately.

This was so helpful. Look at the first paragraph in bold, and it will tell you who WFNNB is representing.

Unregistered
Anonymous
Posts: n/a
Credits: 48,894


Sub: #16
Replied on 01-05-2010, 06:12 PM
Reply With Quote

Thank you thank you -- i read it several time and never noticed that the first paragraphs says what account. Thanks again




Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:57 AM.





* Disclosures:
  • By signing up for counseling session, your provided details (Name, Email ID and Phone No.) will be forwarded to the company advertising on the DebtCC. However, you have no obligation to use their services.
  • Some creditors and collection agencies refuse to lower the pay off amount, interest rate, and fees owed by the consumer.
  • Creditors/collection agencies can make collection calls and file lawsuits against the consumers represented by the debt relief companies.
  • Debt relief services may have a negative impact on the consumer's creditworthiness and his overall debt amount may increase due to the accumulation of extra fees.
  • The amount which the consumer saves with the use of debt relief services can be regarded as taxable income.
Page loaded in 0.048 seconds.