Navigation

Is American Student Assistance a legit company?

 
 
Thread Tools
 
Old 11-06-2009, 08:58 AM
MKM MKM is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2
Credits: 161
Default Is American Student Assistance a legit company?

Hi, all,
For a few years now I have received a letter every 5-6 months from American Student Assistance, saying there is "a data discrepancy between the information they have for your social security number and the social security number we [ASA] supplied in our recent electronic submittal." Then the letter asks me to "please provide at least two forms of the requested supporting documentation listed below so that we can resolve this matter. Please be sure that at least one form of identification contains your social security number." The list of acceptable documentation includes passport, drivers license, W-2 form, pay stub, etc. And plus, they want a signature.

Talk about sending up red flags all over the place...

So my question is: are these guys legit? Has anyone else ever gotten a letter like this? Because it sounds like a snail mail identity theft phishing scam.

My student loans were taken out in 1998-99, and have always been in good standing. I bought a house a week ago, and my credit scores were very good (791, 800, 801), so I know whatever "discrepancy" this is hasn't affected my credit.

Should I contact the servicer on my student loans (Access Group)?

Any advice is greatly appreciated. Thanks!

-Mike
Quick reply to this message
 
Old 11-06-2009, 10:31 AM
guestlok
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Credits: 8 [Check]
Default

Personally, I would Not send them anything
Quick reply to this message
 
Old 11-06-2009, 10:34 AM
paulmergel's Avatar
paulmergel paulmergel is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: illinois
Posts: 8,057
Credits: 35,859
Default

i would alert your loan provider,and file a complaint at WWW.FTC.GOV.let them know a possible id theft scam involving student loans is out there.because it is a scam to get your information.
__________________
giving hope to the hopeless,help to the helpless,and hap to the hapless.
Quick reply to this message
 
Old 11-06-2009, 11:19 AM
SOAPLADY's Avatar
SOAPLADY SOAPLADY is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Naples Florida
Posts: 4,440
Credits: 31,113
Default

American Student Assistance is very much a legitimate guarantor or stafford and private loans. http://www.amsa.com/about/ The Access Group is a lender/servicer....ASA would be your guarantor. I would suggest you follow up with ASA...they are probably required by law to send you that notification.
Quick reply to this message
 
Old 11-06-2009, 11:30 AM
paulmergel's Avatar
paulmergel paulmergel is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: illinois
Posts: 8,057
Credits: 35,859
Default

the notification yes,but all of that documentation?say it ain't so.i do think there is a scam using that name.i never meant to infer that they are a scam.it's just that someone could use that name to phish.do student loans really ask for passports,drivers license,w-2,and a pay stub?again say it ain't so soaplady.
__________________
giving hope to the hopeless,help to the helpless,and hap to the hapless.
Quick reply to this message
 
Old 11-06-2009, 11:37 AM
SOAPLADY's Avatar
SOAPLADY SOAPLADY is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Naples Florida
Posts: 4,440
Credits: 31,113
Default

There were times when I was in collections that social security numbers were conflicting....apps are done on paper and manually keyed in by some minimum wage data entry person at the lender. Errors DO happen so we did have to collect multiple sources to correct the error. Nowadays will online apps, errors do not occur as often.
Quick reply to this message
 
Old 11-06-2009, 11:40 AM
paulmergel's Avatar
paulmergel paulmergel is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: illinois
Posts: 8,057
Credits: 35,859
Default

wow!!!!!!!!!! it's just with all the phishing scams it does look weird,but if you say so.then it's legit.
__________________
giving hope to the hopeless,help to the helpless,and hap to the hapless.
Quick reply to this message
 
Old 11-06-2009, 11:44 AM
SOAPLADY's Avatar
SOAPLADY SOAPLADY is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Naples Florida
Posts: 4,440
Credits: 31,113
Default

I think it is pretty irresponsible that the poster has been getting these letters for a few years and has ignored them. People always seem to find fault in the guarnators activities but they dont follow up when requested.
Quick reply to this message
 
Old 11-06-2009, 04:13 PM
MKM MKM is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2
Credits: 161
Default

Thanks for the info, Soaplady.
Irresponsible? I hear what you're saying, but on the flip side, one could say that it would be irresponsible to blindly send my SSN and other data to some group I've never heard of. If Access Group had sent this request, that would be different.

Thanks, again,
Mike
Quick reply to this message
 
Old 11-06-2009, 04:20 PM
SOAPLADY's Avatar
SOAPLADY SOAPLADY is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Naples Florida
Posts: 4,440
Credits: 31,113
Default

Did you ever look up who American Student Assistance is? Call them? They were not blindly writing you. You could have looked them up on NSLDS as well.
Quick reply to this message
 

Quick Reply
Name:
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Options
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:30 PM.




About Us | Contact Us | Affiliate | Sitemap | Espanol | RSS Feeds| Terms of Services Navigation