Skip to main content
index page

DV Reply

Submitted by on Wed, 08/27/2008 - 16:57
Credits:
[Donate]

I posted this in the debt forum before I realized there was a specific one for credit. Please delete the previous.

I received a reply from a DV I sent Nationwide Recovery Systems today. Their reply stated the following:

We are unable to locate the debtor/account by the information you provided. Please call our office at (xxx) or fax additional information to (xxx). Thank you.

Frogpatch stated this was a failure to validate, so where do I go from here? Do I submit a dispute with the CRAs or send another letter for deletion? By the way, I am a Texas resident, the creditor is also in Texas.

This is the first of a couple DVs I've sent out, so I'm completey new to this. ANY help is greatly appreciated it.

After a collection agency fails to validate a debt then you have the right to dispute the debt with the CRAs and ask them to delete the same from your credit report. CRAs generally take a month's time to delete a wrong entry in case of purchased report and 45 days time for free reports.

Inaccurate information deletion request sample letter is given below: -

Quote:

Letter requesting for the removal of inaccurate information

This letter might help you to state your difficulties with the credit report. Please do not forget to enclose the proofs you need when you will send this letter. They might include cancelled checks showing timely payments, paid off accounts, loans etc. You should also keep a copy of your letter to yourself as you might need them sometime.
<>Your name:
Address:

SSN:
DOB:

Credit Bureau Name
Credit Bureau Address

Date:

Dear Sir/ Madam,

This is a letter to request for the removal of inaccurate information on my credit report. This inaccuracy has resulted in many inconveniences. I have not been able to apply for various loans.