Skip to main content
index page

Need help clarifying what CA's can and cannot do

Submitted by rkulchar on Thu, 07/21/2005 - 14:54
[Donate]

Hello,

I have seen all the professional advice the moderators of this forum have been giving individuals who have problems with collection agencies, and would like to thank all of you in advance to taking a look at my situation. Perhaps someone else out there has ecountered a similar problem and can look to this topic for advice.

Here's my situaiton: I am a resident of Los Angeles, CA. I recently injured my foot and had to have some scary orthopedic surgery back in the beginning of June, 2005. It was at a county hospital because I do not have medical insurance. Some weeks after the surgery, I met with somebody in the Business Office at the County Hospital to discuss payment fo $11,724. Once in the meeting, the representative told me, after reviewing my checking account and assest (little to none), that I only have to pay $2,264. And here's the kicker: she said "since this is a county hospital and we understand you do not have much money, cannot work, and are receiving very modest compensation through California Disability Iinsurance payments (SDI), you do not have to pay this all now. You can make monthly payments of whatever amount you can do, and there is NO timeframe to pay, and NO interest."

I was relieved. I was ready to make my first payment soon. Until I received a letter from a collection agency named USCB, Inc in L.A. who said I must start paying them. I explained to them that I worked out a plan with the hospital. I do not have to pay them (The Cashier's Office at the hospital, whom I made my first payment through, told me to say this!). They said, "no you MUST pay us at least $187 a month, or we will turn this over to a County Collections Agency", which I guess is the serious stuff. Bad credit, etc.