Skip to main content
index page

building up a credit

Submitted by fka on Fri, 03/10/2006 - 07:56
Credits:
[Donate]

how long does it take to start building up a credit? i am a student at the age of 21 and when i try applaying for loans i get turned down because of insufficient credit history. if anyone knows where i can take out a loan with bad credit please let me know. thank you

Hi fka22,

One important thing that I would like to mention is that applying for loans will lower your credit score, because inquiries are put onto your credit file. These inquiries take about 5 points each off your credit score. Think about it, if you apply for 4 loans, that is 20 points off your credit score!! They do not come off for 2 years. If you have a lot of inquiries, lenders see that as a negative. I have heard that inquiries made on the same day only count as one against you, and also inquiries from the same company within a small time period only count as one. So please be careful applying for too many accounts.

You might want to look into getting a secured credit card so that you can start building a positive credit history. Many banks provide these, as well as credit card companies.

~Mary

Submitted by Mary on Fri, 03/10/2006 - 10:11

Mary

( Posts: 1344 | Credits: )

Nice input Mary. You are right about inquiries. Credit checks run by prospective creditors with your consent will reduce your score and these inquiries stay in credit file for 2 years generally.

Fka, concentrate on building up a good credit first. I understand that you are in a financial need. But the companies that will agree to work with you at this point might ask for some collateral. In that case you risk the chance of losing your property.