Skip to main content
index page

What's a current West Asset Management mailing address?

Submitted by bigwig250 on Wed, 03/21/2012 - 18:58
Credits:
[Donate]

(if you don't want to wade through all this you can skip to the last paragraph)

Hello,
I'm trying to enlist in the AF now and hit a snag in the process...the credit check. I have 1 account in collections that I need to take care of. It's a $715 medical bill from '06 that I disputed twice (once with the original creditor and then with the collection agency). Neither gave me a response regarding my dispute and the CA didn't even contact me save for that first letter saying I had something in collections. This is my first time dealing with a CA and it is really frustrating. So far I've called twice in the past month trying to reach a settlement and both fell through (I was given deliberately wrong info on each call and naive as I can be sometimes, luckily didn't fall for it).

Time is of the essence here on account of my age so I'm desperate and willing to play ball at this point. The account isn't even listed on my credit report as of last month but it's apparently showing up for my recruiter. From everything I've read online it seems that a payment plan is a bad idea but I'm considering it now. I was able to negotiate a reduced lump sum (50%) but the rep I spoke with insisted on me paying over the phone which I didn't feel ok doing.

What I'm thinking of doing now is mailing a money order via certified mail for $200 or so along with a letter asking for an invoice of the balance due on the account. What the recruiter wants is me showing an intent to pay; The debt doesn't have to be fully paid off.