Skip to main content
index page

New to this and really scared

Submitted by traci manskar on Thu, 09/30/2010 - 13:23
[Donate]

Hello to all,

I have been reading the forums on this sight for the last couple of days and it really sounds like some of you all know what you are talking about. I am new to this as I have always been able to pay my bills. I lost my job in 2009 and finally found a new one at the end of June this year - at a substantial decrease in pay. While unemployed went through savings and racked up my BofA credit card bill to $23,000 trying to make ends meet. My husband has not worked consistently for 4 yrs and cannot be considered a source of income.
I cannot afford to make any kind of payment and just missed my first payment on 9/22/10. There will be no significant increase in income anytime in the near future and I cannot afford to pay anything else per month.
How can I do a settlement when I can only come up with enough money to live? I'm not sure what to do at this point. I have no assets either - except small IRA. The debt management co that BofA sent me to said there really wasn't much they could do for me and suggested that BK may be the way to go. HELP?

You have just missed only 1 payment right? In order to qualify for a debt settlement, you need to be delinquent for at least 120 days. So, as far as I can see, you have 2-3 more months to rack up some dollars. BOA settles quite well, within the range of 20%-30%. So, you will need to rack up at least $4000 within the next 3 months.

I would suggest you to get into some part time jobs or on line jobs. It will help you to earn some extra dollars which will help you to pay your debt off.

Submitted by smithinnevada on Thu, 09/30/2010 - 17:23

smithinnevada

( Posts: 23 | Credits: )