Skip to main content
index page

Outrageous medical bills

Submitted by abriln on Tue, 04/02/2013 - 08:26
[Donate]

I am in so much debt and I have tried everything I could possibly think of but nothing is working. Please tell me what to do! Here's my story.
I'm a 20 y/o college student. A year ago (Feb. 2012) I got very very sick. I spent 3 weeks in the hospital quite literally fighting for my life. I did not have health insurance at the time, so I ended up with nearly a quarter of a million dollars in medical bills ($200,000+ from the hospital, $20,000+ from the physicians). Call me crazy, but that is too much for any average person to pay, right? Well on top of that, I am not an average person, cause like I said I'm a college student with virtually no income. I am my mother's dependent and she doesn't make that much money either. To make things worse, I attend school three hours away from home (and that's where I was hospitalized), so my mom spent those three weeks with me. Although her employer seemed understanding at the time, a few months later it caught up with her and she lost her job (June). She kept looking for a job, but was unemployed for a little over four months. We barely made it through, with the help of friends, church, and the little money I had been saving up to buy a car. In the meantime, I continued to receive medical bills. I applied for financial assistance right away, but they only approved me for a 30% discount. After a while the hospital realized how ridiculously large their bill was and brought it down to just about four grand, unfortunately after I got out of the hospital I continued going to the doctor for several months and all the bills after the initial hospital stay had added up to 5,000. Thus my hospital bill was $9,000. this was back in June. I continued going to the doctor until October, so the bill now stands at roughly $12,000. The physicians billing dept. told us they would match whatever write offs or discounts the hospital di