Skip to main content
index page

ASSET ACCEPTANCE harrassing me!!!!

Submitted by on Mon, 02/07/2005 - 00:24
Credits:
[Donate]

Anyone out there..please help me. Here's the situation:

Thursday morning I get a call from these ppl tell me I have a debt of 1400 with Bally's Total Fitness. and I said, no I don't, I was on a guest pass for 2 months. Then they told me they'd ruin my credit! I'm a full time graduate student and I pay everything on time!!!! And they're going to ruin my credit!!! Anyway, I know this was some scam to scare me. However, they scared me into settling for 750 and at the time, I thought it was better than 1500. So they confirmed my account number that they're going to steal my money from.

I did some investigation thereafter since they wouldn't let me even contact bally's to talk to them first. Bally's didn't have me on record, and I ended up calling assets again to get this info. The guy yelled at me and said I had no right to call them and they're not going to help me, etc. etc. And kept telling me that they SOLD me to them. well is that supposed to make me cry?! Finally, he gave me the account number and was REALLY rude. I call bally's and they find me in the system and they filed a dispute to this claim. They said they'd get back to me in 30 days, I don't have 30 days, assets is collecting the money 2/28.

Assets was furious that I did call ballys, called me back, left a message and said "I'm warning you, I todl you not to call bally's, if you are not going to settle for $750, the payment will be changed to $1500."

Can they do that?!