Skip to main content
index page

What is the statute of limitations for Massachusetts?

Submitted by on Tue, 03/15/2005 - 13:29
Credits:
[Donate]

I have been a resident of Florida for 9 years. My credit card debt originated in Massachusetts and subsequently some of it incurred in Florida. What is the statute of limitations for Massachusetts and can they go after any of the original debt. Florida is 5 years but what about Mass?

[quote=joan]I have been a resident of Florida for 9 years. My credit card debt originated in Massachusetts and subsequently some of it incurred in Florida. What is the statute of limitations for Massachusetts and can they go after any of the original debt. Florida is 5 years but what about Mass?[/quote]

So you are saying that you have been living in Florida for 9 years after moving from Massachusetts? So if your delinquent account is over the 6 years, you should be in very good shape. You will be able to challenge these bill collectors when they try to take some heavy handed action against you. These old accounts are usually taken up by law firms and these firms try to take such matters to small claims court.

The billing companies rarely keep the details of very old accounts so you would be able to successfully challenge any legal action that this collector might try to take against you. Just make sure you have a lawyer. Most of these collectors rely on intimidation. So having a 3rd party will allow you to level the playing field.

Submitted by benjaminz6 on Mon, 04/18/2005 - 09:53

benjaminz6

( Posts: 256 | Credits: )

15 years ago a man did contracted labor for me, he claimed injury and went to the Workers' Compensation Trust Fund and collected close to $10,000. I just now have been served a summons that the W.C.T.F is sueing me for this, is there statute of limitations for this?

Submitted by on Fri, 04/14/2006 - 12:34

( Posts: 202330 | Credits: )

Marta,