Skip to main content
index page

Experts please help!!! Debt collectors contacted me when I don't owe anything!

Submitted by abhisam on Sat, 03/17/2012 - 00:20
[Donate]

I live in California.
I work in the staffing/recruiting industry. I worked for a company in California from 2007 through 2009 that is now bankrupt or on the verge of bankruptcy. I worked for that company as a recruiter (employee) and from time to time, signed employee contracts when I placed candidates at our client locations.
Now one of the companies with whom the company did business sent me a letter through a debt collector to collect money on their behalf. My guess is, they found my name as a recruiter on one of the company documents and are now trying to pin me as liable for the money that the company owes to them. I just received the letter today (the letter has the creditor's name, amount, debt collector's name and some other details). They have asked me to reply within 30 days. I am planning to send a debt validation request. I don't know how they can find me liable for a debt that the company owes to them, when I was merely an employee there. In my opinion, they don't have a case against me, but nevertheless I want to be prepared for the battle.
Is there anything else I can do other than sending a debt validation request at this point? What else can I expect from them and what should be my next step? Do they have a case against me?
I am really stressed about this letter and I would really appreciate any help that you guys can extend in this matter!!!
- abhisam

i somewhat agree spacblank.if you have a good address and send a c&d,and they violate it.you sew them a good one and collect 1,000.00.simple as that.

Submitted by paulmergel on Mon, 03/19/2012 - 06:59

paulmergel

( Posts: 15514 | Credits: )